The Short Century:
Independence and Liberation Movements in Africa,

Curator: Okwui Enwezor
Co-Curators: Rory Bester, Lauri Firstenberg, Chika Okeke-Agulu, Mark Nash


Venues and dates:
Museum Villa Stuck, Munich
15 February to 22 April 2001
Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin
18 May to 29 July 2001
Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago
8 September to 30 December 2001
P.S.1 and Museum of Modern Art, New York
10 February to 5 May 2002

The Short Century: Independence and Liberation Movements in Africa, 1945–1994, was a landmark exhibition exploring the confluence of African culture and independence through art, film, photography, graphics, architecture, music, literature, and theatre. Featuring works by more than 50 artists from 22 countries, the exhibition was notably extensive, occupying the entire three floors of MoMA P.S.1 in New York City. Curated by Okwui Enwezor initially for the Museum Villa Stuck, Munich, The Short Century was remarkable as the first major survey show to consider the politically-charged struggle for independence in Africa, and how liberation movements and art are inextricably linked in the emergence of new cultural forms. The Short Century traversed various cultural contexts in which the politics of freedom were explored: from the numerous and varied struggles for African independence after World War II, to the collapse of apartheid in South Africa much later in the 20th century and the establishment of democracy across various African nations.

Artists: Georges Adéagbo, Jane Alexander, Ghada Amer, Oladélé Bamgboyé, Georgina Beier, Zarina Bhimji, Skunder Boghossian, Willem Boshoff, Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, Ahmed Cherkaoui, Gebre Kristos Desta, Uzo Egonu, Ibrahim El-Salahi, Erhabor Ogierva Emokpae, Touhami Ennadre, Ben Enwonwu, Dumile Feni, Samuel Fosso, Kendell Geers, Kay Hassan, Kamala Ishaq, Gavin Jantjes, Isaac Julien, Kaswende, Seydou Keïta, William Kentridge, Bodys Isek Kingelez, Vincent Kofi, Rachid Koraichi, Sydney Kumalo, Moshekwa Langa, Christian Lattier, Ernest Mancoba, Santu Mofokeng, Zwelethu Mthethwa, John Muafangejo, Malangatana Ngwenya, Thomas Mukarobgwa, Iba Ndiaye, Amir Nour, Uche Okeke, Antonio Olé, Ben Osawe, Ouattara, Gerard Sekoto, Yinka Shonibare, Malick Sidibe, Gazbia Sirry, Lucas Sithole, Cecil Skotnes, Pascal Marthine Tayou, Tshibumba, Twins Seven-Seven, Susanne Wenger, and Sue Williamson.